Introducing our Life Membership Award Recipients for 2020

April 17, 2020 | By Nick Franjic

The CSC Life Membership Award is the highest distinction the Association can bestow upon a member in recognition of significant, distinguished and lasting contribution to CSC and the broader design + construction community. 

To be considered for this honour, a member must be nominated by no less than seven members reflecting membership in at least three different chapters. 

The Executive Council and Board of Directors is honoured to announce that Clauge Giguere, FCSC, Susan Morris, FCSC and Don Shortreed, FCSC, RSW were nominated by their peers and are the recipients of the Life Membership Award for 2020. 

This accolade is typically presented by the President of CSC at the Presidents Ball to the individual recipients. Unfortunately, due to the circumstances surrounding COVID-19, Conference 2020 has been cancelled and these distinguished individuals will be presented their award at an upcoming chapter meeting. Below, please find excerpts from each of the recipients nominations. 

Claude Giguere, FCSC
Claude was nominated by his peers from the Atlantic, Montreal, Toronto, Edmonton and Calgary Chapters. Claude joined the Board of Directors in 2004 and served as President for the 2012/2013 year. Claude was instrumental in translating MasterFormat from English to French, served on the Building Smart International Institute for BIM Canada, assisted in spearheading the introduction of le Magazine Construction and has served on numerous committees both at the Chapter level in Montreal and at the Association level.  Claude has received many accolades including being elevated to the College of Fellows in 2014.

Susan Morris, FCSC
Susan's career spans over 40+ years and is no stranger to receiving accolades! She has previously received the Governor General's Medal in Architecture, the Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia Award in Architecture, the Canadian Architect Award of Excellence, induction into the CSC College of Fellows and more recently, she received honorary membership in the Architectural Institute of British Columbia, a recognition bestowed to non-architects who have made noteworthy contributions to the profession of architecture. Susan became a CSC member in 1992 and was involved at the chapter level in Vancouver for over 12 years and has served on numerous committees at the Association level. She has mentored many new members including CSC Vice President Kim Tompkins. Among many of Susan's accomplishments is the revival of the Vancouver Island Chapter.

Don Shortreed, FCSC, RSW
Don has been a member of CSC since 1988 and has been a long standing and enthusiastic supporter of CSC ever since. Don joined the Toronto Chapter Executive Committee where he served on several portfolios before becoming Chapter Chair and subsequently Chapter Director. Don served on the Board of Directors becoming Vice President in 1997 and President for the 2001/2002 year. 
Having served on numerous committees including Chair of Conference 2004, the Education Maintenance Task Team, the Construction Canada Editorial Advisory Board and the Registrar Advisory Task Team in 2012, Don decided to join the Executive Council once again in 2018 as the Secretary/Treasurer and in 2020 as one of CSC's CCDC representatives. 
Don received his Registered Specification Writer designation in 1997 and was elevated to the College of Fellows in 2003. Don has received numerous CSC awards over the years for his efforts to the betterment of CSC and the industry at large.